Kentucky State Council  

The History of Kentucky State Council

The Kentucky State Council of ESA was started in 1953. Martha Rose Underwood of Alpha Alpha Chapter, Louisville was the Kentucky State Council’s first State president from 1953-1955. Her theme was “New Horizons”.

The purpose of the Kentucky state Council is:
• To become better acquainted with members through the state meetings.
• To promote closer relations and fuller cooperation between local chapters, state officers, Southeastern

   Regional Council, International Council and ESA Headquarters.
• To assist one another in all problems and promote a common purpose within the organization.
• To establish interest in Epsilon Sigma Alpha and establish new chapters throughout the state.

The following were charter chapters of the Kentucky State Council:
• Alpha Alpha #173, Louisville, KY
• Alpha Gamma #1681, Louisville, KY
• Alpha Kappa #1841, Lexington, KY
• Alpha Theta #662, Bowling Green, KY
• Alpha Epsilon #1565, Paducah, KY
• Alpha Xi #1804, Mt. Sterling, KY
• Alpha Delta #1138, Hopkinsville, KY
• Alpha Zeta #1814, Frankfort, KY

The Kentucky State Council meets two (2) times per year. The annual State Convention is held in the spring and Fall Board / Leadership is held in the fall.